Creative Costuming…

Doing it for the fun of it.

Anna Coronation Dress

image(11)So I finished Elsa’s dress a whole week before Katsucon. So I decided to get right to work on Anna’s coronation dress for my little sister. I had some black corduroy that kinda looked like velvet. So I cut out the corset using the same pattern I used for Elsa, since Anna’s corset had the sweetheart neckline too. Quickly sewed it together and because my sister is so small I was able to just use a zipper as a closure.1795567_10101422060750807_1402459947_n

That next day I had a friend of mine who will be going to Katsucon come over to get some help with her Jack Frost costume. She thought it would be fun to do Jack and Elsa photos together. So she came over with a wig that needed styling and a hoody that needed to be glitterfied. I had told Hesa that I had a bit of glitter left over after I had finished Elsa and that she was free to use it. SO we did a quick trimming of the wig which made Hesa look like she had really strange Yeti shoulders. and sat down to show her how to use the glitter. I do have to say the hoody came out great, I can’t wait to get better pictures of it. We also made her a snowflake ring like mine using a snowflake ornament she found in her stash.

I didn’t have enough or the right fabric laying around to make the skirt so I made a quick trip to Joann’s with a picture. I didn’t buy any “fancy” fabric, like satin , I ended up buying a regular solid cotton fabric. I knew I only had a week to put this together and my little sister is rough on clothing so I decided a more durable, machine washable fabric would be best. I got four yards of each fabric, cuz my sister is short and doesn’t need more than a yard for length, and went home to stare at the fabric. I do this a lot when I am not using a pattern, I just stare at the fabric trying decide how best to cut the pieces. I do usually sketch out in chalk the shape I want but because I don’t draft patterns in scrap fabric I always run the risk of making mistakes. SO after staring at the fabric for about thirty minutes, I finally committed and made the first cut. There is no going back 😛

image(13)After cutting out all the pieces I did a quick hem on the center panels and painted on the design. I first layed out the panels and sketched the design with chalk. Looking at it now the pattern and the panels are to wide, but for the time I had I feel it looks fine. image(12)Once the paint had dried I ironed and attached the center panels to the beige fabric. Then began to sew the dark green and beige panels alternating as I went. I only had three more panels to go when I decided I should probably go ahead and start pleating the skirt to make sure it wouldn’t end up too big for my sister. and after I had done that I called her to see if she could come over. And it was a good thing I did, because there was no way I was going to be able to pleat the panels any smaller for it to fit her. So I added the last green panel and sewed in the zipper, and then did a quick waistband and had her try it on. It fit great so I hemmed the ridiculous amount of fabric and did a final pressing.

1896906_10101426943001737_963507734_n

Before the final hem.

Lastly I had to do the decorative cap sleeves and her necklace. The sleeves were easy enough, just cut out wide strips and gather them, I eyeballed the placement and had to wait to try it on my sister the next day. The necklace was a simple green pendant on a black ribbon. So I grabbed some scraps of Wonderflex and cut out the shape I wanted, heated three layers together and painted to the color I wanted. Did  a clear coat over the top and threaded a ribbon through. Her hair comb I bought at Joann’s and made a decorative top that kinda looks like it does in the movie. Well, has the same basic shape, and pained it gold.photo 1

I happen to have a bunch of hoop skirts and crinolines so I didn’t have to make that to help hold the weight of the skirt. It holds a nice shape and looks pretty good for a weeks work. It is supposed to snow in a few days and looks like it might be a lot, so I think we should have no problem doing some very fun, but fast, photo shoots in the snow at Katsucon. This weekend is going to be a blast.

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5

13 comments on “Anna Coronation Dress

  1. fancy dress for girls
    February 14, 2014

    Hello there I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I
    was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would justt like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a
    all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I
    have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

  2. Pingback: Anna’s Coronation Dress From Frozen « adafruit industries blog

  3. sheer wrap dress
    March 18, 2014

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.

    Would you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the
    subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome
    blog!

    • alattething
      March 18, 2014

      Not sure I would ever have anyone else write for me, thanks though. Thanks for reading.

  4. beetlejuice fancy dress
    March 27, 2014

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or didd
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog
    and would like too find out where u got this from. thanks

    • alattething
      March 29, 2014

      I made it myself, it is just one of the templates wordpress provides.

  5. Appreciating the hard work you put into your site and
    in depth information you present. It’s nice to coome across a
    blog every once in a whiule that isn’t the same
    outdated rehashed information. Great read! I’ve
    saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

  6. dress green
    April 15, 2014

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death
    aat work so I decided to browse yor blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic blog!

  7. jo
    April 20, 2014

    Thank you so much for this blog post. My daughter is a huge Frozen fan and is desperate for Anna’s coronation dress, but you can only get her blue on in the UK at the moment, if you can get one at all! This is a great guide to how to put one together for her. Thank you!
    And I’ll probably have to do Elsa’s dress for her sister! 🙂
    Fantastic blog. Cheers

  8. Jeana
    July 17, 2014

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the information you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!

  9. Jennifer Howard
    July 18, 2014

    It’s lovely! About how much did it cost to make overall? I’m looking into making one myself…

    • alattething
      July 19, 2014

      I am not really sure how much it ended up costing, as a lot of the materials I already had. I think the fabric for the skirt was around $50, but other than that I can’t really help.

  10. Eugenio Edgeston
    August 31, 2014

    Informative post, just what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2014 by in Costuming, Crafts, Family, Geekdom and tagged , , , .
