Creative Costuming…

Doing it for the fun of it.

Planning and Plotting

iphone pics 135

so many cookies!

Well now that things have calmed down from Dragon Con,  the planning for Christmas gifts can begin. What? I’m not planning for next

this was a joke gift for my little sister. She asked for a bunny for Christmas, so I made her one, out of real rabbit fur :D

this was a joke gift for my little sister. She asked for a bunny for Christmas, so I made her one, out of real rabbit fur 😀

year yet? Well yes that has been going on too, but I figure since Christmas is just a few months away I should start thinking about gift ideas. Last year I didn’t make too many gifts, but I did make a few. I would like to make at least one hand made thing for each person this year, but gathering ideas that are actually plausible will be difficult. I have a few idea for a couple people but as they read this blog I can not go into those ideas. Instead I will talk about things I have made in years past that have gone over pretty well.

I actually hand painted 3 of these because I wanted one for myself.

I actually hand painted 3 of these because I wanted one for myself.

Last year (2012) as I said I didn’t make too many things. Every year I make over 500 cookies that I divvy out and ship to family and friends. It is kinda my fallback iphone pics 128gift. No ideas for *insert name*, they get Cookies! I also did a few tree ornaments this year, Meg and Heather were the recipients of them, and they turned out pretty nice if I do say so myself. I also made a ringmaster jacket for my Boss. It was a commission from one of his managers from the theatre, and as they had gotten him a top hat for his birthday earlier in the year they figured he needed a jacket too. But as Mark is a fairly big guy, and has to have his hats specially ordered to fit his head. I was asked to make one to fit him. When asked later on iphone pics 129how I got it to fit him so perfectly I told him every time he was around I was doing iphone pics 104measurements behind his back. I also finished my long overdue Christmas Caroling cloak, which i had been promising to make myself for the last few years, and it is adorable 🙂iphone pics 136

Christmas 2011 0212011 I did my usual cookies, and make 3 stuffed animals/things.Christmas 2011 001 (3) Heather got Boo, from Mario. Andy got a Goomba from Mario as well, and Meg got her favorite Muppet, a really cute soft cuddly Rolf. I also made a pillow with a bull moose head appliqued on but can’t seem to find a picture of it. I made it for my dad.Christmas 2011 002 (3)166313_808096296537_2892723_n

2010 was the year of hats, ,I made winter hats for pretty much everyone. Warm fleece hats, and each specialized to each person. 67180_808096196737_7303248_nMeg got a Invader Zim hat, I had been commissioned earlier in the year to do a jacket, and she thought it was the cutest thing ever. Leeann got a monster that looked like it was eating her head. Cris got a cat, since she was on the DC 166282_808096106917_3961075_nDemon Cats Roller Derby team. And her son Keanu got a stegosaurus, since he was obsessed with dinosaurs. 164317_808096281567_152422_n

This year I have decided to try new things. Maybe some canned items, or a big sewing project I have never even thought to attempt. Wish me luck, I am definitely gonna need it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2013 by in Christmas, Crafts, Geekdom and tagged , , , , , , .
