Creative Costuming…

Doing it for the fun of it.

Falling Into Place

Just under two weeks to go, and things are starting to come together. Dragon Con is around the corner and I am super excited. I will get to hang out with some of the coolest people on the planet. Costumers, nerds, stars and fans alike will gather for the best 4 days of the year. If you have never been to Dragon Con, make sure it is on your bucket list. It is totally worth it.

N7-7

Patterning out pieces.

N7-9Hunter’s armor is completely together, and just needs the paint job.

I spent a few days with Heather helping finish Snotlout, and making her dress for Samara. She was trying to decide which other costumes to bring, and decided to pack her Green Lantern costume, but wasn’t sure about bringing the lantern since it was so heavy. So being me, I said I would make her a bag/lantern so she could still have something, this way it will be light weight and also be functional. The inside of the bag isn’t pretty, but it will work.

Valkyrie 011I did repairs and a refitting on my Effie Trinket from last year, got my Iratient clothing picked out, and did my first try on of all my Valkyrie stuff. I did a quick photo shoot to see how everything looked together, since I had been doing pieces separately but never really checked the overall look. I really like the way it turned out, and after a few tweaks here and there, it is as perfect as I am going to get it. Just have to figure out how to put a pocket on it somewhere so I can carry money, cards, and my phone. I have made pockets or some sort of “bag” for or on all my costumes this year, except for the Valkyrie, not sure how I am going to do that. I also made a new ‘pain box’ for my Bene Gesserit, this one will hopefully last more than a few hours. Packing is about 3/4 of the way done. Most of my costumes are packed, including shoes and wigs. Just have to pack normal clothes, make-up, toiletries and such. The next 12 days are going to go either super quick or painfully slow. See you at the Con!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2013 by in Costuming and tagged , , , , , , , .
