Creative Costuming…

Doing it for the fun of it.

Stuff I’ve Done

I have been costuming for the last 6 or 7 years, and I have learned a lot over that time. Sometimes I get costumes I absolutely love, others I want to toss and try again. These happen to be some of my successes. Starting with the best and most recent to some of my older but still fun ones.

Won Best Novice during the Friday Night Costume Contest Dragon*Con 2012

Bene Gesserit

First time ever wearing a bald cap.

Ever since I saw Dune when I was a kid I always thought it would be fun to dress as a Bene Gesserit. So this last year I decided to see what I could do. I wore it for the first time to Dragon*Con 2012 and wasn’t sure if anyone would appreciate it or even recognize it. Turns out I had nothing to worry about, almost everyone knew who I was and wanted to take a picture with me with their hand in the ‘pain box’

Goblin Knight

Made 2011

This is probably my most favorite costume ever. The Goblin Knight from Labyrinth was one of those costumes I told myself that one day I would make this. One day I would be good enough, know enough to be able to pull this costume off. I tell you now, you never know how good you are until you try. Don’t ever underestimate yourself for you have no ideas how much you can accomplish if you only put your mind to it.

Blink Angel

Blink Angel (2)

Worn 2010-2012

Don’t Blink!  This was my first ever collaborative costume. My friend pieced together the dress top and bottom, I made the wings and wig, and we both worked on the mask and arm sleeves. I did most of the painting, and had a lot of fun freaking people out. If you ever feel like you need help don’t be afraid to ask, there is always someone who can help or teach you how to do things.

Silent Hill Nurse

Silent Hill Nurse. I have worn this for years, easy comfortable costumes are the best. (Made 2011)

Effie Trinket (2)

Effie Trinket

Hunger Games was huge in 2012, and I don’t see that changing for a while. I thought Effie Trinkets costumes were amazing . The color, the make-up it looked like a lot of fun, and it was.

Sith (2)Sith

My version of a Sith lord. Started piecing it together in 2009 and have made a few changes over the years. Still not quite happy with it yet, but I can always make something else. That is the beauty of costuming.

One comment on “Stuff I’ve Done

  1. John
    June 6, 2013

    Wow love your Bene Gesserit costume very talented!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2013 by in Costuming and tagged , , , , , , .
